Par village, Cornwall
Par is a large village located four miles east of St. Austell.
Initially a small hamlet on the banks of the River Par. The village expanded rapidly from 1825 when the local entrepreneur, Joseph Austen, later to become Joseph Treffry initiated a building programme to improve the area. A bridge was built over the river in 1824 and in 1829 he oversaw the building of a harbour. Completed some eleven years later, the harbour transformed Par into an important port. Goods transported were either to, or from, the mines and quarries near St Blazey - in which Austen also had an interest. Par soon became a very important port exporting copper, granite and china clay.
Nowadays, Par has declined in importance but the village still boasts mainline railway station on the Paddington to Penzance line. It is also the station from which to depart on the Atlantic Coast Branch Line to Newquay.
For more information, read about Par on Wikipedia.
Stay at a nearby Holiday Park and keep the kids amused all day! Parks in the vicinity include those at:
Plenty of hotels are available locally. Consider those in the local towns:
There's plenty more to explore in this area, too! Find more attractions and things to do nearby: