Wheal Union Mine, Cornwall
Redruth: grid reference SW691417
Location: Western outskirts of Redruth, opposite the old Grammar school.
Wheal Union Mine is thought to have been an amalgamation of the former mines of Gweal Paul, Wheal Goodspeed, Hoskings Wheal Silver and Wheal Captain. Wheal Union itself opened in about 1848 producing little and closing again in 1854. The mine worked on the following lodes: Druid's, MacDonald's, Vigur's, Old North, Teague's, Chyandower and Wheel Breeches Lodes. There were at least seven shafts on the sett including: Old Engine Shaft, Western Shaft, Engine Shaft, Eastern Shaft, Breeches Engine Shaft and Moyle's Shaft.
The following year the mine was reopened but costs outweighed production so the mine struggled on until 1866. In 1864 according to Thomas Spargo in his book The Mines of Cornwall, the Purser was Mr George Lightley, the Manager was Captain Thomas Glanville and the land was owned by James Wentworth Buller Esq., William Williams Esq., and Thomas James Agar-Robartes of Lanhydrock.
There are a few records for Wheal Union in 1870 and also between 1879 and 1882 but Wheal Union could never be regarded as a successful mine.
There is a wealth of information on the mines and miners of Cornwall available. Why not explore Cornwall's industrial heritage through the Bookstore?
Other nearby mines and their main ores
East Carn Brea (approx. 0.6 km; COPPER)
Great South Tolgus (approx. 0.8 km; COPPER, TIN, ARSENIC & ZINC)
East Wheal Tolgus (approx. 0.8 km; COPPER, TIN & ZINC)
South Wheal Tolgus (approx. 1.0 km; LEAD, ZINC, COPPER & TIN)
Wheal Uny (approx. 1.0 km; COPPER & TIN)
Wheal Trefusis (approx. 1.2 km; COPPER & TIN)
Pednandrea (approx. 1.2 km; TIN & COPPER)
Wheal Bucketts (approx. 1.3 km; COPPER)
West Wheal Tolgus (approx. 1.4 km; ZINC, COPPER & TIN)
Wheal Sparnon (approx. 1.5 km; COPPER, COBALT & GOLD)